Users working groups


There are some use case where the same project needs to be assigned to different groups of users, for example a different user group per each data collection site.

Each user group has access to the data collected by the same group only, but not the data collected by any other group. The project creator(s) and manager(s) need to have access to ALL the data though.

This use case can be solved by cloning a "base" project to multiple identical projects, one per each user group, and then assign to each of the cloned projects different users. When cloning a project, the project CREATOR stays the same so he/she will have access to all the data. It also possible to assign the same manager(s) to each of the cloned projects if needed.

See the diagram below:

Remember to keep the projects private to limit users access to only the users you specify!

For example, we could create a project called

CENSUS BASE 2019

and clone it three times to:

  1. CENSUS BASE 2019 SITE ONE
  2. CENSUS BASE 2019 SITE TWO
  3. CENSUS BASE 2019 SITE THREE

Now we have three exact copies of the same project. To each project we can assign different users so access is restricted to only the users belonging to a single project (therefore to a single site or single group).

Manager(s) can be assigned to all the projects so they will have access to all the data. Merging the data can be done in the post-processing of data using your favorite third party tool like Excel or Google Sheets.

We recommend cloning the "base" project only when it is finalised and ready for data collection, otherwise each change made to it will have to be replicated manually to each of the cloned projects!


If there is the need to have a different CREATOR per each project, the ownership of a project can be transferred (see how). It is also possible to export a project definition only (no users attached) so it can be imported by another user who will become its CREATOR after importing it. (See how)

results matching ""

    No results matching ""